Go Fly A Kite

This weeks focus was on focus… Specifically depth of field. The first two are shallow depth of field, with he fallowing being deep depth of field.  All four of these I used an aperture  priority setting, some Lightroom edits, photoshop for cropping, and a lot of fun.

I really loved shallow depth of field and found perfect subject almost instantly. I struggled for inspiration for deep depth of field. I was driving around town in a wind storm of 60 MPH plus winds and a little worried about my safety when “lets go fly a kite” from Disney’s Marry Poppins started to play for my car speakers. Thats when inspiration struck and I got that final shot you see of winston the butterfly kite. No matter how the winds of life blow fly you kite high and just be you!

Dogwood. BYUi campus,49mm, 1/55, F/5.6 100iso, Cannon rebel T5

Dogwood. BYUi campus,49mm, 1/55, F/5.6 100iso, Cannon rebel T5

Tulips, BYUI campus,50.00mm, 1/400, f/6.3, iso 100, canon rebel T5

Tulips, BYUI campus,50.00mm, 1/400, f/6.3, iso 100, canon rebel T5

Garden walk, BYUI Campus,49mm, 1/200, F/5.6, iso 100, cannon rebel T5

Garden walk, BYUI Campus,49mm,1/200, F/5.6, iso 100, cannon rebel T5

lets go fly a kite, Porter Park, 55mm, 1/125, F/32, iso 400, Cannon rebel T5

lets go fly a kite, Porter Park, 55mm,1/125, F/32, iso 400, Cannon rebel T5

5 thoughts on “Go Fly A Kite

  1. All of these pictures look great! The lighting looks amazing, and I love the variety in your pictures. The difference between the two deep depth pictures is really cool. The one with the kite is definitely my favorite. Both of the shallow depth pictures look really nice too, and I think you captured a nice range. Way to go!
    These blogs have great pictures too:
    https://jamesbogden.wordpress.com/category/digital-imaging/
    https://ariannawomack.wordpress.com/category/photography/
    Here’s my blog!
    https://nsbastdesign.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Kit,

    Your photos are great! It looked like you had fun – I love the kite photo. I also think your image of the tulip is amazing.I like the colors in it and you did a good job with the depth of field. It makes for a very good and easy to notice focal point.

    Although you clearly understand depth of field, here is a cool article that I found helpful when working on my photos. http://digital-photography-school.com/understanding-depth-field-beginners/

    Like

  3. Nice work on your photos! I particularly enjoy the 2nd flower one. The vibrancy and the different shades of red/pink are gorgeous! I also really like the kite picture. I think you did a good job with the rule of thirds, as well as having nice contrast between the colors of the kite and the clouds. Nice work with framing your shots and having colorful pictures – they’re very visual appealing!

    Check out my blog 🙂 https://ariannawomack.wordpress.com/2016/05/10/depth-deep-and-shallow/

    Like

  4. Really creative I really enjoyed this blog post. The name of the photos as well as the creative name for the blog post really made this blog really cool. I really enjoyed he subjects you picked especially the kite picture. Another good blog was Natalie’s: perstersonnatalie.wordpress.com. Mine is right here: ercekj@wordpress.com.

    Like

Leave a comment